Lemon Curd Cupcakes

After days of wanting to make them, I finally got around to making my lemon curd filled cupcakes. Even with a tantrum throwing toddler hanging off the barrier to the kitchen wanting to eat whatever I was making, I didn’t get deterred.

 

Ingredients

 

I used the Magnolia Bakery vanilla cupcake recipe. But thanks to my darling hubby buying the wrong sugar and wrong icing mixture I had to make a few tweaks. In the recipe it just says to use sugar. Hubby bought caster sugar which I used. In the frosting recipe it calls for ALOT of sugar; Confectioners sugar which is just icing sugar. Hubby bought icing mixture which is slightly different so I ended up using the recipe on the back of the icing mixture packet.

100g butter

1 cup icing mixture

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

 

Completed mixture ready to fill cupcake holders

 

I had actually halved the cupcake recipe as it makes 24 and there’s no way they’d all get eaten so i just upped the qtys for the frosting to make enough for 12 cupcakes.

Before frosting, I cut little holes out of each cupcake and piped in some lemon curd. You can make your own but I just bought pre-made lemon curd in a jar. Still delicious.

 

 

Then, I piped on the frosting.

 

Finished!

 

As part of my search this is the 2nd cupcake recipe I’ve made. The first was delicious!! This one – whilst still nice, had a different texture compared to the fluffy ones I’ve always liked. I can’t describe it. It wasn’t dry at all, just a different texture. Interestingly, I had one for breakfast today (I know, naughty naughty!) but I liked it better today than yesterday. The texture didn’t bother me.

Hubby who only ever eats the frosting off cupcakes, again ate the whole thing. He actually ate 3 for dessert so by that grading, success!

Comments

  1. these look so yummy!!! time for a chocolate one next 😀

  2. next step! shopping for the cutest cupcake patty cups!

    • And I did Jess! In that homewares shop in DFO in Melbourne. But I couldn’t justify spending my clothes and cafe money on them. Lol

Leave a Reply

